The Holmen Area Fire Department is an association between the Village of Holmen, Wisconsin and the Township of Holland, Wisconsin for the purpose of providing fire protection.

Board of Directors

The Holmen Area Fire Department (HAFD) is governed by a four-member Board of Directors made up of elected Village of Holmen and Town of Holland board members.  The Board serves as the Department’s policy-making body, and is responsible for providing financial oversight, control of property, contract negotiations, and strategic policy direction.  The HAFD Board holds regular monthly meetings.

Fire Commissioners

The Holmen Area Fire Department (HAFD) Fire Commission is composed of five members appointed by the Village of Holmen board president and the Town of Holland board chair.  The Commission’s role is specific to staffing the fire department and is responsible for recruitment, hiring, promotion, and discipline of the department chiefs and firefighters.  The Commission holds meetings as needed.

  • Marc Ertz – Town of Holland
    Commissioner 1

  • Neal Forde – Village of Holmen
    Commissioner 2
  • John Miller – Town of Holland
    Commissioner 3 & Secretary
  • Barry Ploessl – Village of Holmen
    Commissioner 4 & Chair
  • Patrick Brockman – Town of Holland
    Commissioner 5 & Vice Chair

Fire Chief

The Holmen Area Fire Department (HAFD) Fire Chief is responsible for the administration, supervision, management, and planning of the department.  The Fire Chief also coordinates fire and emergency medical services operations and oversees community risk reduction activities including fire prevention, fire education, and life safety inspections.

  • Ryan Ostreng
    Fire Chief